Getting to know … Aleczander Gamboa

Featured in Monash University’s School of Media, Film and Journalism:

Aleczander Gamboa.

Aleczander Gamboa’s dream job is becoming an editor in chief of a fashion and lifestyle magazine.

Getting to know …

Name: Aleczander Gamboa

Course: Bachelor of Arts

Faculty/Division: Arts

Dept: Media and Communication

Campus: Caulfield


What has been the best aspect of studying journalism at Monash?

The hands-on approach and learning from tutors who have had real “on the field” experience. Everything you learn about journalism at Monash is easily transferrable to the real-life media rooms. You also build up a portfolio to later show employers what you’re capable of.

Do you balance uni life with a job?

Yes I do – I’m a contractor who freelances with different organisations in my spare time.

Why did you choose to study journalism at Monash?

The journalism major at Monash offered a diverse range of subjects to its students, from lifestyle journalism, producing digital news and broadcast journalism. I knew that the journalism major would equip me with a versatile range of skills, but also give me a freedom to choose journalism subjects that I was really passionate in, as opposed to having it chosen for us.

What is your dream job in journalism?

Editor in chief of a magazine, preferable in fashion and lifestyle. GQ would be the dream!

Who has been your biggest career influence and why?

Julie Tullberg, who taught me last year, has continued to be an excellent mentor to me. Her experience in the media and communications field is second to none. She always been very welcoming in providing me with honest valuable feedback for my work, as well as getting me through thick and thin when I had some challenging experiences.

The second is more of a general one, and that is fashion icon Tom Ford. He single handedly revived Gucci, started his own fashion empire and basically just did it all even if he received flak for it. I hope to one day emulate his level of work ethic in my own future endeavours.

First job?

Waiter at La Porchetta.

Worst job?

I don’t really count any of my previous jobs as the ‘worst job’ as I see all of them as learning experiences nonetheless.

What is your favourite place in the world and why?

Bookstores – I love its quiet environment and being transported into different realities in books. I could spend all day there.

What is your favourite place to eat and why?

I eat everything, so I don’t really have a favourite place! But if I were to really pick one, it would be Shandong Mama on Bourke St – those dumplings are literally heaven.

What is the best piece of advice you have received?

“Leave your s*** at the door” – something my VCE drama teacher would always tell us. It means that no matter what struggles you are going through in life, never let it get in the way of your professionalism. Leave your battles at the door and deal with it after.

Tell us something about yourself that your uni colleagues wouldn’t know?

I’m a die hard Pokemon fan, like even to the point where I want to get a pokeball tattooed on me in the future.

Leave a Reply

